Personal View site logo
War: Chronicles of 22.02.22 war
  • 266 Replies sorted by
  • @garroulus I have been on the site since the GH2 days. Don't start getting paranoid about special/secret agents. Vitaly has my brief details. I'm retired but I worked as a statistician and for a while as a musician. I previously have spent a lot of my time posting criticisms of my own government and Trump in the British press. But Putin's war is a massively dangerous mistake and I think that most intelligent people should be able to agree on that.

• The optimistic picture of the future that Vitaly presents is of a successful fit between Russia the producer of the raw materials and China the manufacturer. Normally this is the third world/developed world model. Unfortunately for you,if you have ever spoken to anyone that has travelled around Africa (and elsewhere I've heard), China is all over the place doing public works and securing future supplies of materials (particularly rare ones). Russia will have tied itself to China but I sense that China is already having concerns about the tail wagging the dog. Russia will be a price taker not a price setter. China will be your master.

Russia could produce fine software engineers and try to compete with India but Vitaly's plan for mass pirating is going to limit their chances of selling to the huge market outside Russia and China. There are downsides to all illegal actions.

If Putin remains in power, he may well be wanted for war crimes and crimes against humanity so Russia may become a pariah state with its citizens fighting over a diminishing cake. The poor cannot take much of a cut so the professional classes will have to take a large one. Start building the walls you are going to need.

You will also be pouring resources into trying to control and rebuild a very large country which hates you and the cost of that will be colossal.