Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
GH3 rumors topic
  • 869 Replies sorted by
  • @disneytoy, i'm just a newbie so pardon the question, but I thought the idea was to expose for the highlights and then if your cameras strength is in the shadows you can recover that info. Is this not the right approach?

If the GH3's strength will be towards the shadows wouldn't a user try to deal with the highlights knowing they have better handling down low? This stuff is still new to me.

• The all-I mode sounds great! I'd actually rather have 4:2:0 with all-Intra motion, than 4:2:2 with that cruddy log-GOP videoish motion. This will be a nice feature if true!

• If you are looking into the GH2 screen and the highlights are blinking, you definitely have a choice to make. You can live with the overexposed bits, or underexpose until everything is in range and then deal with the fact that the exposure is not optimum. The problem arises when you have say sunlight streaming in through a window in an interior scene, where the DR is too great to make an accommodation, This has happened to me on more than one occasion. Then you are looking at various things like filters to cope with the imbalance, or multiple cams focused on different areas. There is also a built in DR feature for the GH2, which is why some of us wish we could control it more precisely.

• One thing I also know. It is that it has Wi-Fi with Wi-Fi direct support.

• I found this table on a HDR photogaphers website. (http://www.vanilladays.com/hdr_tutorial/)

Typical outdoor sunlit scene  100,000:1 ~17EV
    16Bit TIFF 65,536:1 ~16EV
    The human eye 10,000:1 ~14EV
    A film camera Up to ~2000:1 ~11EV
    Average DSLR typically ~400:1 ~8.5EV
    Good monitor 500:1 to 1000:1 ~9-10EV
    JPG Image 256:1 8EV