Personal View site logo
GoPro Hero 7 topic
  • 111 Replies sorted by
  • "GoPro, Inc. (NASDAQ: GPRO) announced that HERO7 Black has achieved the highest week-one retail unit sell-thru of any new camera in the company's history."

https://investor.gopro.com/press-releases/press-release-details/2018/GoPro-HERO7-Black-Achieves-Strongest-Week-One-Unit-Sell-Thru-in-Company-History/default.aspx

• This video tests motion, moving the camera and moving subjects. An advantage of shooting at 60 fps is smooth, natural motion. Here we have moving trains and walking with the camera.

The video was shot using Protune flat with native WB. So the colors reflect my grading. I can say that the flat setting gives lots of latitude for both dynamic range and color.

This was shot handheld using the camera stabilization. For static shots it is the best I have ever experienced; it does pretty well when moving but I am still learning how to best use it when I am mobile. I used low sharpening and did no sharpening in post.

The uploaded video was rendered at 80 Mbps HEVC, same as the original clips.

• The above video by the clownish phoneideo is yet another example of confusion about compression that has afflicted a number of early reviews of the 7. He keeps complaining about low bitrates and fails to understand that 60-80 Mbps HEVC is about 120- 160 Mbps H264. He also does not know you can select HEVC for all frame rates and resolutions. He doesnt understand dynamic range, blaming clipped highlight on bitrate!, rather than on overexposure. These guys need to read the manual, and more.

• @markr041

Well, I still surprised why you being scientists still did not join PV team and started to make accurate reviews :-)

• On the other hand, iPhoneDo's reviews are a lot more fun to watch than most people on youtube and tend to be pretty brutally honest.