Personal View site logo
Panasonic GM1 official topic
  • 237 Replies sorted by
  • To ISO 25,600 (with Zuiko 45mm f1.8) its near to my 5N to 6,400. Great job Panasonic.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jlmfotografo/13174599253/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jlmfotografo/13174749114/

13174599253_e62fdb794c_h.jpg
    1600 x 1201 - 773K
    13174749114_151853787d_h.jpg
    1600 x 1201 - 784K
  • I have had mine for a few months now. I am just an amateur, but like it so much I pick it up first and not the hacked GH2 I have! Video quality is excellent as is the kit lens. The main reason I like it so much is size and peaking. It can be used in tight spots. If you use a Go Pro for its size (not being waterproof) like in the corner of a car the GM1 is a great replacement. It fits tight places but gives much more control.

I have read on other forums where the GM1 peaking is useless...not true. It does not work in all situations, but when it works it is a huge help with focus. I have the peaking set on orange as not too many things I shoot are orange it shows up fairly well. One main problem with my old GH2 is the focus.

Largest problem I have had is accidentally touching the cursor/dial on the back and changing a setting by accident.

It is great to use in public no one suspects your are filming.

• And here is the GM1 with the VF-4 Loupe from Carry Speed. I was quite surprised that it fit the tiny GM1. All of the buttons except for the flash release are accessible too but the lack of a real hand grips means you kind of have to hold it by the loupe itself :)

You can see in the second photo that in order to get the loupe to sit flush on the LCD the baseplate needs to be set all the way forward. This works with the 12-35mm kit lens since it is so tiny and has no overhang, but virtually any other lens (including the 20mm pancake) will protrude below the body and block the plate. I have the GM1 tripod riser coming soon which might help here.

photo 4.JPG
    1200 x 755 - 189K