Personal View site logo
GH3 user reviews and opinions
  • 1089 Replies sorted by
  • Copy that. Like I said, I had no frame of reference for where you were coming from. My gear earns me $, as well. I have the BMCC on "order". I'm thinking of waiting it out or bailing for a year or more and getting the GH3. That is my reason for wanting to see something. Shian did his shoot out, but was too heavy on the all i codec. He knows that and added a little extra accordingly. 60p is tempting, but not a deal breaker for me (obviously with the BMCC I'd like to someday receive).

As to testing and your not wanting to "bother" with it. Every DP that is worth their salt tests cams/codecs/media/film stocks. They have done it for years when approaching a project. They do it extensively.

• @FilmingArt second that. I've been using two GH1 for the past 4 years, going 5th and have decided to grab the GH3 when it is out. Now it has arrived, and all i know is that the overall handling is much superior, the 1080p 60p is a beautiful addition. sadly, i got a pal version.

for 1300 a GH3 is definitely worth every penny regardless some flaws it has, for instance unusable ALL-I settings, or the blurry EVF. but no camera is perfect. It is just whether it suits your workflow and makes it easier for you to shoot better films.

• @filmingart It's surprising that you are on more of a professional level and use a gh3 instead of a mkIII (with magic lantern, ninja 2) or a c100/300 with a ninja 2, or a RED, or ANYTHING other than a gh3. lol Don't get me wrong, gh3 is a great camera, but I really don't think I would show up to a video shoot and present myself as a professional holding a gh3, although YOU know it's abilities, i'm surprised clients aren't like "you kidding me?"

• @GravitateMediaGroup If you are going to be ashamed of using cheaper gear then why bother with it?