Personal View site logo
Official Panasonic GH3 topic
  • 1288 Replies sorted by
  • No proper pink model for VK

• I am a little disappointed by the non multi aspect ratio type sensor mostly for the size of the sensor. Before many did not make the move because they thought that M43 was too small while in reality it was more like Canon Apsc 1.6 to Gh2 1.86, which was not that big. Now going to 2.1 is quite big difference.

• I sincerely hope that Panasonic has a lower price than $ 1300 for body only. Looking beyond the m43 fan, I can't see it competing well with 2 new $ 2000 full frame camera from Nikon or Canon and $ 300 more than an Apsc Nikon D7000.

I know that for some here that are for video only the gh3 is well worth it, but for 90% + of the market this is not the case. They Panasonic have to compete against a whole set of camera from very established camera companies that have a whole ecosystem of lens, flash system, etc.

As a Nikon user as a photographer I came to the gh2 because of the price quality ratio and I could adapt my lens. But if this camera cost so much I might better either invest in a d600 (that will come normally) as a backup to my D800 or even think about a BMC. I think a lot of people will be in the same case. Contrary to many here who live only in the m43 video world I think a bit more about the general market for this camera to succeed beyond just a niche market, thereby ensuring the survival of this model/brand.

• Jizzyjones 3:20PM

GH3 will match the AF100 then at 17.8 x 10 in 16:9, yes? as that was also 2.1x crop

I think is 17.3 x 9.7 in 16:9 mode, as for any other G/GF/GX camera

• I rarely follow new kit and specifications as closely as I have for the gh cameras, do camera manufacturers regulally dish out all of this dubious news through rumors.. to then turn around and give some positive news on announcement day?