Personal View site logo
Beginners: Basic hacks questions
  • 1012 Replies sorted by
  • I am pretty new to the GH2 world but did hack my old T2i. It's gone and I'm a GH2 user now. I have successfully hacked my 2 cams with the most recent PTools. I'm not really interested in the 24p mode so I left those settings alone. I really only wanted to get my 1080/60i mode up to 24mbps like other cams like the HMC150. I setup it all up, saved the file and loaded it on both cams. I have tried some long recordings just to test it and make sure it was spanning properly. Tonight I tried long recordings twice with both cameras. Each time it broke the files at the 4gb limit like it should. However each time the first file numbered 000000.mts would not open but all subsequent files opened just fine.

I'm using Transcend Class 10 16gb cards. They worked great on my T2i. I formatted them in the camera before each long recording. I'm wondering if I needed to low level format them on my computer before using them to completely wipe them clean.

When I got the cams and left everything at default I recorded 3 or 4 cards full with no problems at all. Long files spanned great and all files were readable.

When I setup the update in PTools I set the FSH at 24mbp with the AQ=4. The default was 3. Would that matter?

I'm trying the same tests now with my other PNY cards I bought when I got the cams that worked fine previously.

Any ideas what happened?
  • I just registered and the only "camera" I ever owned was a disposable camera :)