Personal View site logo
GH4 4K Panasonic video camera, official topic
  • 3230 Replies sorted by
  • @crowbar - I'm confused. Does 5DtoRGB actually convert 4k? Thought it was just 1080 conversions. The Firecoresoft programme just bombs out every time I try to load a 4k file - load failure error message. Did you have any problems with it? (pc trial version)

thanks - just desperate to find a down-convert method that will give me aliasing free footage to import into avid..

• @mrbill Well I am no expert but yes unless I am missing something, it surely converted the 4K clip to ProResHQ liked I programed it to and when I checked the file size of each, the ProRes was larger than the 4K clip which is to be expected. But when converting the 4K clip using Firecoresoft (yes it worked for me) there is only "smart fit" option when it comes to the bit rate so there was no way to retain the quality and the file size was way smaller than the 5DtoRGB transcode plus I could notice a softness in the image for sure next to the 4K clip. The 5DtoRGB conversion was supreme to my eyes! Firecoresoft is convenient for less crucial internet stuff and also can snap a jpeg photo from any footage loaded into it. However I will certainly avoid it like the plague for converting 4K video! Sure wish rarevision and other experts who have actually done the test would weigh in here on the pros and cons of using 5DtoRGB as a convertor to preparing the 4K for editing in a 1080p timeline. The frame grabs I posted earlier should speak for themselves...

• http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/eventDetails.jsp/id/1818 For those who already have the GH4, learn from the pros on how to use it. I will still be watching to see what I am missing. :)