Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Official G3 hack development topic
  • 191 Replies sorted by
  • Hope you are all right now. :) If not, then get well soon Vitaliy ;)

• Sorry I am a total newb so you might find my idea absolutely old or as a matter of course.

An option to turn off the mechanical shutter would be nice (e.g. mechanical shutter is off when serial shooting in SH -- 4 megapixels), would that be possible? I find it disturbing to shoot in situations where one is asked to be silent (church, museum and such). Even when shooting in single shot mode at lowest quality (same resolution as in multishot SH) the G3 uses the mechanical shutter.

• I don't think you can turn off the shutter for real stills.

SH mode doesn't use the shutter because in this mode the sensor does not capture stills, it just sends the video feed that is used to live view / focusing, and the camera extracts frames from there. That's why in SH mode the photos you get are of such a low quality.

• And here I am as promised! New paycheck, new donation. Transaction ID: 0UG54372BL6443643. Any hope for manual video mode to be included in the coming PTools (the one currently in alpha status) or should we just wait for a future release provide that? If so, any estimate about the release month for manual video mode? Keep up the awesome work (but take care of yourself first), J.

• PTool 3.66d alpha

Send me PM if you want to be member of testing team.
    You must be long time community member, must have camera near you, and understand that it is bad idea to become tester if you just want PTool sooner.