Personal View site logo
GH4 4K Panasonic video camera, User reviews and opinions
  • 1273 Replies sorted by
  • @jamesgh2

@AdamT mpgxsvcd is an old school tool for converting footage to the SVCD format which was a step below DVD but recordable in regular CDRs back in the day if I'm not mistaken.

Right you are. I have been doing codec testing since 2000 when we thought that mpg-xsvcd was the real deal. We were burning xsvcd discs for use on Aiwa DVD players back in the day. I wanted a screen name that I knew would never be taken by anyone else so I could have one screen name for every site. Hence mpgxsvcd.

• @SuperSet Most NLEs can ingest true cinema 24P video without an issue. When you render out just use 23.976 for maximum playback compatibility. However, some editors do not yet support the 4096 frame width of DCI mode. If you're not sure that your NLE supports it, stick with UHD mode instead.

• @Tron So, the frequency only affects ingest into Premiere and not render at all, correct? Thanks in advance for your post.

• I wanted a screen name that I knew would never be taken by anyone else so I could have one screen name for every site. Hence mpgxsvcd.

I figered it was something like that. Problem is, every time I want to refer to you I can't remember the seemingly-random sequence of letters that you go by.

• @SuperSet If you're using Adobe Premiere you can bring the GH4 24P footage into your project and then use the "interpret footage" feature to conform cinema 24.000 Film over to 23.976 NTSC. This should eliminate the chance for odd looking drop frames when you render it out to 23.976. Here is the link: http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/organizing-assets-project-panel.html#change_the_frame_rate_of_a_clip