Personal View site logo
Driftwood Quantum X Settings, Series 2: Sedna A, B, C
  • 1030 Replies sorted by
  • @rsquires Yes, Remux: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35968/remux

But I use FCP7, FCPX is too much crippled of pro features.

Will also try subler http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/31647/subler which I just found when adding this reply.

But hey, even when this works: Probably 2 times rewrapping before I can start editing? Not good for documentary work... There must be something in the hack´s HBR bitrate to mess the 50i wrapper up. (But I am an amateur regarding to the specifiations of h.264) Because, as I wrote before, also VLC will play a hacked HBR recording with small, repeateable glitches whereas unhacked HBR works fine. With fast Sandisc 64gb card 95MB/S and fast Mac. I can also easily import unhacked HBR to FCP7 directly using the "Log and Transfer" tool without any problems...

• @terry2 It is VBR, and it will always be VBR, what driftwood has done is to make it behave like a CBR codec. The bitrates willl still alter dependent on shot, but not as dramatically. Its much, much harder to change the settings to make the codec behave like its CBR with a longer GOP, which is why ppl are noticing more bitrate variances with 720p footage.

• @Stray

I've been fighting with these settings for days now since the 720 50p mode gives everything from 10.000 kb/s to 50.000 kb/s even if the setting is a "CBR" setting... Glad to hear that it is normal, then I know that I'm not the only one...

Anyway.. These new matrices, are they specially made only for low light shooting, or can they be used in bright light too?