Personal View site logo
Samsung NX1, $1300 4K flagman
  • 1157 Replies sorted by
  • utezat what gamma mode do you shoot in? The camera can be as punchy or desaturated as you want. I like fuji color too and NX1 can be graded in that style.

• I love the Nx-1 in many ways, but i struggle with colors. I admit I have no color grading skills. I always loved the preset colors coming from the gh2. I am a lazy hobbyist.

• Coming from the Panasonic GH2, GH3, GH4, then the Canon T3i and finally the Sony A7s, I'd say the NX1's color is my favorite.

• huh? color in nx1 is damn good. don't look at anything from older firmwares. Andrew loves the nx1 by the way. even reids relatively thin nx1 guide has some ok tips to get best results. You have to dial back sharpness and saturation in camera. It has that consumer color punch thing just like tvs in stores. Easily handled.

both raw photo and video are highly gradeable. even quick grades make big differences because it has such a quality image.

• Color of Nx-1 is a nightmare. Not only gree, but reds can be brutal, nearly eye hurting . If you have grading skills, this won't matter. The perfect camera was a NX-2 with 422 10 bit, fuji color science, a log profile and 240 fps at full hd. I would never need another Camera.

• I think that comparison with the 1DC you looked at was with an early version of NX1 firmware. In any case, you can drop the green channel by whatever amount suits you in the profiles of the NX1.

• Well, it is very hard to say anything about such comparisons, as they depend on lenses also and ton of settings. And this is if you see source files, not edited stuff (that can be also affected by other things).