Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
GH2 Cake v2.3: reliability and spanning in 720p, HBR, 24p, and VMM at 2-2.5x stock bit rates
  • 609 Replies sorted by
  • @balazer Thank you again for a great patch. Some of my films involve some amount of grading. Would you still recommend using Cake? @Mark_the_Harp I come from the world of audio (I'm a musician and record producer) and I remember the early days of Digital Audio (Protools 3 back in 1994) when we used to be meticulous about audio levels in order to preserve as many bits possible from the 16bits available to us then.

• Ah yes - me too. And I still have the grooves in my shoulders from carrying around Nagras and later, that Sony PCMF1 betamax combo and later the huge "portable" Sony DAT machines. I definitely think technology has moved on in a positive way (although good gear always costs money, and you always have to use it well, regardless of how expensive it is).

By the way, have had a go at the latest Rocket (V3) and I still think Cake has the slight edge, although I haven't tested Rocket that much. Just that the Cake images are really nice. I'm not a grading expert, though, so I guess you might have to experiment with both in controlled conditions and see if there's a difference. To me the Cake images seem smoother and just "nicer", particularly at low ISOs.

One thing I do believe: that if you are doing high-iso stuff, possibly Rocket is slightly better when it's noise-reduced. But then again, it also eats cards like there's no tomorrow, so I'm pretty sure I'll stick to Cake for now.

• I don't have experience with color grading, so I'm not sure how much it benefits from having higher quality recordings.