Personal View site logo
Taking Pictures with GH2.. need some advice shooting properly
  • 178 Replies sorted by
  • Maybe better lighting or a faster lens will allow for higher shutter speeds....I use the GH2 95% of the time for video. I have taken some great stills with it, but honestly I think my old Canon Powershot S400 took better photos...of course the GH2 lenses allow more creativity.

• I am a owner of a GH2 and am very happy with it's video capabilities, which was what I bought the camera for but find the photo quality terrible. Even a Sony sure shot takes better pictures than my GH2. It's quite shocking the picture quality of this camera. I'm a ex professional photographer previously using Hasselblad's, Mamiya RB67's and Nikon F3's. I use the correct shutter speed and set all the camera's parameters correctly, yet the pictures are still crappy. I'm using the basic kit lens 14-42mm F/3.5. I've performed test after test and even at the highest quality out of the tests the result is still sub standard. To confirm my point I purchased a Canon T2i Rebel Last week for my partner and took a few shots with and without flash and the results were crystal clear and vibrant pictures with depth. THE GH2 for Photos is awful and should be only used for scrap book photos. I am quite disappointed because I wanted to carry one system and not 2 different camera systems. I got the video quality so at least I got one of them. For Photos the GH2 is a NO!!! GO!!!! Yes I can change the lens to a Voigtlander 17.5mm F/0.95 but should be able to get reasonable results out of a kit lens. Canon produces reasonable results with it's 18-55mm kit lens so why don't Panasonic with the GH2?

• This statement calls for some comparison material...

• Funny to read.. I own GH2s and I'm very happy with the results.. Don't think that this is blurry or soft :)

_1040869.jpg
    1600 x 2400 - 582K
  • I really like the pictures i take with this camera, you really need to know how it works!