Personal View site logo
Hardware advice for laptop editing with DaVinci...
  • Hi, I am a quiet reader of this great forum. My name is Fabian, I am from Germany. I work in the classical music business as my main job. More and more we use our audio productions to film something for later use. Up to now I edited in Lightworks. I got DaVinci now and like it quite a lot.

Here a little explanation what I do: We film on a GH1 (Hacked), GH3 and GH5. The GH5 is used in 4k 10 bit. Output is HD. The shots of the GH5 are quite often used to mimic more cameras (crop in) and to mimic a slider.

Up to now I use a Lenovo W541 (i7-4910MQ, 16GB RAM, Quadro K2100M) All data on internal SSD (Ultrabay) seperate from OS). It is really hard to work with this PC and the 4k material of the GH5.

I am thinking of upgrading to an X1 Extreme (i7-8750H, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4 GB, M.2 SSD)

I want to stick with Lenovo. We use quite special Multichannel Audio interfaces (RME Madiface XT). We had some problems with other brands. Since years we stick to Lenovo and never had problems. So this will not change. I am not interested to get a seperate Laptop just for video work.

The question is if the update will speed up things considerable?

Thanks for your input about this.

Best. Fabian

• 13 Replies sorted by
  • @FFrank

If you can you can be much better with desktop. Much much better.

If you need ONLY laptop go for i9-8950HK or i7-8750H, with ability to install 32GB RAM.

Do not go lower than GTX 1060 6GB mobile. 1070 and newer 2070 with 8GB are much better.

And most important - cooling performance. Cooling actually define performance in all laptops.

Laptop must have place for TWO NVMe SSDs and one 2.5" SSD.

Again, if you ask me - get small desktop ITX case with handle, it'll be all around 2-3x cheaper and around 2x faster.

• Well said, Vitaliy.

• are there any such builds with handle? It sounds good but not very applicable, but I am happy to change my mind

sa7413.jpg