Personal View site logo
Aputure VS 2 and VS 2 fine monitors
  • 31 Replies sorted by
  • Welp, just to add my 2c to the issue.

Yes, it's lightweight. Yes it's 1080.

The downsides that no one has seemed to mention are the color, brightness, and contrast issues. Yes you can adjust those - but to what end? The monitor has troubles with highlights and shadows, losing detail in both. No amount of adjusting contrast or brightness helps this at all. In fact adjust contrast doesn't seem to adjust contrast! Adjusting contrast up seems to brighten the image and blows the highlights, while simultaneously somehow raising the shadows a smidge.

What works "best" for me is to raise the RGB to about 170 (R 170, G160, B170) - this seems to bring back some details in the shadows. I'm not very good with adjusting RGB sliders and can't really get it to match the back of my D750s screen perfectly. Contrast around 20, and Brightness around 50 or 60. Colors still seem a bit off, especially in the midtones.

The D750 screen is crisper, and with the flat profile I can see detail in both highlights and shadows, unlike the VS-2. Color also seems to be truer on the D750.

In use, it definitely helps with focusing, however, focusing on small objects far away remains a challenge even with said 1080 resolution. The screen still seems just a tad bit mushy for my taste, although maybe it's just the small pixels.

With fast motion, there is some screen lag / refresh weirdness, but it's not terrible (it is just for monitoring after all, and not recording)

The case and included accessories are very nice with the exception of the sunhood which is attached with stretchy velcro. This definitely seems like it will fail shortly, but time will tell. Really wish they redesigned that part.

If you want a 1080p monitor at a decent price, this seems to be the only option (apart from the slightly more expensive NEWAY one on PV).