Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
2k Anamorphic Workflow for DCP
  • I've been using the LA7200 Anamorphic Adapter for several months now and I really like it. Initially, I did some reading and posting around and ended up with an un-stretch workflow consisting of lowering the vertical scale to 76 in FCPX, which looks right and incidentally matches non-anamorphic footage cropped to 2.39:1 using the 'widescreen' or '2.35:1' checkbox in plugins like CineLook and ClassyLook.

There isn't a lot of NLE specific information out there on how to properly un-squeeze, and Voldemort's ebook was a starting point for the math that lead to the above solution. There are some assumptions about sharpness and the way one un-stretches that seem a bit quirky or hard to follow, however.

All of my grabs and little vimeo tests and things up this point have been done that way and I am happy with the results. However I'm soon going to be starting the edit on a little feature, and due to my geographic location I have a pretty solid chance of some manner of theatrical projection and I want to start from the ground up with that in mind in the edit.

A couple of days ago I tried what I thought might be a more 'proper' workflow, which was to run GH2 files through 5D2RGB and then through compressor changing the pixel aspect ratio to 1.333. The result was a clip that looked correct, but when I put it in FCPX, I noticed it was slightly taller than my previous efforts. It matched other clips only if I changed their vertical scale to 80 instead of 76. At this height, however, neither match the 'widescreen' button from the plugins, which I take to be a guide for 2.39:1.