Personal View site logo
Opinions from switchers of CS5.5 to CS6?
  • I'm guessing quite a few folks have experience here with CS5.5 and CS6.

I recently found someone to sell me the entire CS5.5 master collection for just under $100 (they are legitimate and it's not pirated). But.... I'm also a student and can get the CS6 production premium for around $450 (or so). The upgrade costs to CS5.5 to CS6 seem like they are almost as much as the CS6 student pricing.. so... I'm wondering if the new features (esecially in premiere cs6) are worth the extra money???

What is your personal view about cs6 vs cs5.5? :-)

• 12 Replies sorted by
  • Consider subscribing to the creative cloud. You get everything for $30 per month for the first year as an upgrade and $50/month otherwise. You get many more applications and can use them on 2 workstations. They can be different platforms so you can work on both Windows and Mac.

• Using anything before CS6 makes me want to pull my hair out. Not that CS5.5 was so much worse, but it's impossible to think about going back now. For me, the updates to the Premiere interface, the performance boosts through Mercury/CUDA, timeline adjustment layers, the never-stop playback and the full-screen toggle make it indispensable.

• Theirs actually student pricing for the Cloud and it's $20 a month. I'm assuming 6.5 would come out before the year contract is over so basically you'd be able to upgrade to 6.5 when the time comes and still pay the same.

• Yeah - the Creative Cloud from Adobe is good deal, particularly if you use many Adobe applications (you get 15-20 different applications). I'm on it, and you get a ton of stuff including Premiere Pro, After Effects, Photoshop, and much more. You can check at www.adobe.com/CreativeCloud

• Thanks all... I found a solution ;-) ...Vitaliy, please feel free to close this thread or merge with the CS6 if you like....