Personal View site logo
Vivitar vs Canon FD lenses
  • hello all. i am very new to photography and videography. i have purchased a gh2 about 2 months ago and love it. my dad had some old school canon fd lenses laying around from when he was in the military in the early 80s. i bought the ciecio7 adapter and it works wonderfully. i love how the images are detailed, yet soft, and how the bokeh is incredibly nice.

i have a 50mm f1.8 and a 135mm 3.5

i am looking to buy a wider angle lens but i am caught between canon lenses and vivitar lenses for the fd mount. i am looking to get a fast (f2.0 or lower) 24 or 28mm lens, and the vivitar ones are much much much more affordable than their canon counterpart.

my question is this. how much of a difference is there between the canon fd and vivitar fd lenses? is the difference in price worth it to go for the canon? how does the vivitar lens hold up on its own?

• 14 Replies sorted by
  • Vivitar 28mm f2 Close Focus is ok on M43. Its corner sharpness sucks, but M43 crops it and gets the good center part. It'll be a good match to Canon FD 50mm. Just make sure to block the direct sunlight as it gets ugly flares.

• So you would choose the vivitar over the canon? Is it a better option?

• I never had Canon FD 24mm or 28mm. But Vivitar was good enough. If I were you, I wouldn't be too picky about vintage lenses.

• I'm a big fan of the Vivitar close Focus 28/2.8. You can read online the differences between that and the 2.0 in the very long thread with lots of image examples. However, the Panasonic 14mm is much wider, smaller, lighter and focuses very fast and silent. It is an amazing lens for really very little money. You can often find them on eBay for $165.

I have boxes full of old lenses from years of photography. And although I like the Vintage look of the 28mm, the only old Vivitars I ever use are the 55 and 92 macros.