Personal View site logo
In NYC until December, looking for an internship.
  • Hi, everyone!

I put out a similar post last semester when I was headed to LA, and I just realized I didn't do it this time.

I've already arrived and settled into an apartment in NYC for my semester in an art/film program at the New York Center for Art and Media Studies. For part of my education while here in New York, I get to do an internship. Any suggestions, connections, leads or even offers would be wonderful and much appreciated.

I am seeking an internship related to both cinematography and art.

I have basic experience with a very wide range of film industry equipment. Last semester I interned at a rental house in Los Angeles as a functionality/quality inspection intern. Because of this, I have experience running all types of gear through its paces, everything from kino-flo and arri kits to microphones and digital cameras. I learned how to pick up an unfamiliar piece of equipment and learn about it quickly and effectively.

I feel most skilled and comfortable in a production setting, helping out in any capacity. I enjoy anything involving cameras, lights and lenses. I also have some post-production experience. I understand video codecs, sound design and I know my way around Final Cut Pro, but I do not claim to be an editor.

PM me or just throw up a reply on this thread if you think you can help me out.

-Caleb

• 4 Replies sorted by
  • You sound like a good kid, but you gotta focus on what you can deliver to other people. "I feel most skilled and comfortable" etc is not going to help you. What can you deliver? What are you passionate about? Even if you don't know the answer, go after the first thing that comes to mind and if you don't like it, move on to the second thing.

There are too many skilled but talented people who don't go after what they want, and too many untalented but narcissistic people that do.