Personal View site logo
Best Black&White (B&W) FIlm mode and setting for straight Black&White work
  • Hello, I'm shooting a short film this Saturday which will be B&W end result. Im wondering if anyone can recommend best settings or film modes or patches for this kind of work. I'm a complete newbies to hacking and right now I'm using FlowMotion V2.02 patch for all around work. I like the idea of having just one patch setting for everything, but not sure what would be best for B&W.

I know that Nostalgic film mode has best dynamic range (from what I've read), but I also read on EOSHD Guide to GH2 that Black and White Smooth Film mode on GH2 is supposed to have the best DR and smoothest gradation out of all film modes. Should I just shoot Black and White Smooth mode straight in the camera or do use another mode and then do B&W in post? How about the best patch?

Any input is appreciated enormously,

Thank you so much.

• 18 Replies sorted by
  • take a look at the video description on vimeo:

• Thanks! Will do.

• Thanks a lot for the link. This looks really nice, but I will be shooting an important project and I need to have as much flexbility and latitude in the post production as possible. I'm sure this "look" can be recreated in post with a little bit of fiddling, but if something goes wrong I won't be able to recover anything from my footage :)

So, basically, Id like to have as much leverage as possible in the post production.

• If you want to create your B&W look in post, I would suggest shooting in color since you can play around with the color channels before converting to B&W and give yourself more flexibility to make certain things pop (a bit like shooting B&W through a color filter).

Straight out of the camera, the method above is the best I've seen and it's great fun to shoot that way. But not very flexible ;)