Personal View site logo
GH2 Rain-like diagonal noise
  • I purchased a GH2 about a month ago, so I'm rather new to it. Recently I've noticed a strange, diagonal, streaky noise in my footage. It almost looks like rain in parts of the image, and it always appears to be moving in the same direction (from upper left to lower right). I was using the Flow Motion 2.02 patch, and thought it might be somehow related to that, but I switched back to the original firmware and the "rain" is still there. I've tried 2 different lenses, and I see it with both. I'm not even shooting at that high of an ISO (400). Any ideas?

Examples here (view full screen):

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

• 8 Replies sorted by
  • I get that noise too... BUT. I got it when I used the Sanity hack, and saw it only when I watched the footage in premiere pro CS5 at a lower-than-native resolution. Watching it at Full looked fine, and it rendered well, too.

BTW, your Vimeo videos don't seem to be working properly: one frame per second?

• I get that recently too. I can't find the root of it, but right now it shows up after i export from PPcs6.

• Interesting. I don't see it when I play back the original MTS files in VLC. Could it be an Adobe thing?

(I think the Vimeo playhead is just snapping every second. The video seems to be playing fine, at least in fullscreen. It's hard to tell because there's no actual motion, just noise)

• Here's what I know - I shoot exclusively with Sanity 5 and use Premiere Pro 5. I've never had an issue. However, I saw the diagonal streaking when I played the same footage in Premiere on a friend's computer that wasn't as fast as mine. So it appears to be a realtime decoding issue brought about by under-powered hardware. The good news is the footage itself is fine, and it rendered fine on my friend's computer.

My machine has a Core i7 920 processor overclocked to 3.8 GHz. My friend's computer has a Q6600 processor overclocked to 3.1 GHz.