Personal View site logo
Strategies to win on ebay
  • I buy a lot of stuff on ebay, but 99% is Buy It Now. Now, I found something that is kind of rare and is something I really need. It's open bid. I have little experience in the ebay trenches. As of this post, 36 hours left, 4 bids, minimum still not met. Is it best to dive in now? Jack up the price to separate men from boys? Dive in at last second? Use an auto bid software? I think I used used something call "Esnipe" once upon a time. Advice sought. Help me win!!!

• 19 Replies sorted by
  • I usually bid in the last few seconds with the maximum I think it's worth to me. I absolutely see no point in bidding very early, exciting other people or inducing any unwanted action; although sometimes it is inevitable.

• That's great info V. Interesting that feedback scores below 99.8% are considered "Bad".

I don't have the guts for Rockwell's method of clicking the auction with 3 seconds left. I'll try the automated bid route. Anyone have a auto bidder to recommend?

• Interesting that feedback scores below 99.8% are considered "Bad".

They are not bad, they are not recommended if you are beginner and do not have time to read all negative feedback and check seller. In some areas (like secondhand mobiles, etc) quite low feedback is the norm, as people complain constantly.

I don't have the guts for Rockwell's method of clicking the auction with 3 seconds left

If you really need some item and seller is not big, best strategy is to talk to seller :-). And you can loose with last second bid approach (as too many such smart guys exist).

• Seriously, I'm really okay with any feedback in the mid to high 90's. Some sellers have thousands of transactions and some buyers are nut cases and will bomb anyone. 99.8% is too extreme!