Personal View site logo
Can you direct and DP at the same time? ( for a indie feature)
  • 58 Replies sorted by
  • Stephen Soderbergh DPs many of his movies under the assumed name Peter Andrews. His films aren't shit. So I'd say if you have the talent you can do both.

• @brianluce: Exactly. I'm a professional DP, but I couldn't direct at the same time. As a director you need to focus on the story, script and always working with your actors. While the director can (and in my opinion, should be) involved with the visuals, they still shouldn't worry about something like we need to worry about, like negative fill, filtration or bounce. If one was to DP and direct, I think either side could be lacking (and if it is, then let it be the visuals, acting is still the most important), especially on a feature.

• They are two distinct skill sets and the info in this thread is garbage. The only time you should try and do both is if you have no other choice. As Bwhiz says, Liman did it because it was his only option. Can you do it? yes. Should you do it? NO. A director should work with the actors and the script, not worry about lighting ratios and hot spots.

• Thanks guys for your great responses. Bwhitz; you hit the nail on the head. Thank you guys so much!

• I think it depends on the filmmaker, the kind of films they make, the way their process works. I would say choose what you think is best for you - if you've made it work, or you feel working this way is the only way you can work, you should keep it up.

Some filmmakers are all about the frame on a moment to moment basis. Some stand off to the side and watch the actors. Some directors like to operate the camera themselves, but don't take a DP credit. I don't think there's any one right way to make a film, just the way that works best for you.