Personal View site logo
GH2 with Livestream for live webcasting?
  • Guys, has anyone tried using the blackmagic intensity card with Procaster from livestream?

Procaster is free software on windows or mac and I use it for webcasting live events. I am thinking it could take the 1080 50i and deinterlace it and you could livestream at 25 progressive.

I am going to buy the blackmagic intensity and test it out..... http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/

So do I need to hack the camera first or does it not matter?

Do I need to hit the record button or does it not matter?

Any help on this ASAP would be appreciated as I have the event Sunday. I have backups should the gh2 / blackmagic to laptop into procaster livetsream software not work.... but I would love for it to work.

I want to set up the gh2 with the 1.7 pancake lens for a wide live stream and the jump around with my gh13 for actual coverage. I'm still very new to the GH2 and make some boo boos where as I know every crevice of the gh13 like my ex girlfriend.

ps to give you an example of what is capable with livestream: this is a live broadcast in hd with webcams and the gh13 prerecorded footage cued and played live from a laptop:

pretty f-ing impressive.. make sure you full screen it.

http://www.livestream.com/blackoutsbox/video?clipId=pla_66eed6b7-7047-414c-b985-c98269389846&utm_source=lslibrary&utm_medium=ui-thumb

- Blackout

• 50 Replies sorted by
  • @Blackout: Wow you really are posting around the place today!

>So do I need to hack the camera first or does it not matter?
    For HDMI now - no

>Do I need to hit the record button or does it not matter?
    Yes- colour is F*(#KED up when not recording- just try out and see the difference! So get a nice big SD card so you can stream for a long time!

Good luck!
    PS: @Blackout you can 'edit' your last post so that you are not having a discussion with yourself.
  • PS: I don't quite get it working until about 5 mins into the livestream