Personal View site logo
Light stands
  • I'm only beginning to build a very basic lighting kit. So I bought myself this 800W Redhead from eBay for £29.80 ( http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/140751914206 ), but until it arrives I want to buy a cheap light stand for it. And I don't know which one to get? Which light stand mount will work for mounding an 800W Redhead? And which one of these 2 light stands should I buy? This one http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/360441970480 or this one http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261055222703 (first one has a screw at the tip of its mounting knob, and the second one doesn't)

Or would you recommend another light stand for Redhead?

If you have used Redheads before, please reply. Thank you for your advice!

• 18 Replies sorted by
  • First, screw on top does not matter, if you are mounting lights. Plus you can always get cheap converter otherwise.

Second, you need to clearly tell how you want to use this stands. It is very common error to provide multiple links of that you consider an option. Better tell us that you want to do using lights and how.

If you ask me, I prefer two stands.

• Long, air cushioned, with good tube diameters and wide legs spread.
    • Medium, designed to be extra portable (they must be light and very short packed).

I think you can figure our yourself my reasons and where to use each:-)

And, almost forgot. Never very buy cheap crap. generally, stands are like tripods. Good ones will serve you very long.