Personal View site logo
Samsung NX1, $1300 4K flagman
  • 1157 Replies sorted by
  • Many of this monsters made another round of dark crap content.

That's true. Somehow the capabilities of the A7s were interpreted as "Lighting no longer needed".

• And it is not a lowlight monster like some of the recent (Sony I'm looking at you) other mirror less options out there.

Many of this monsters made another round of dark crap content. I do not know why, but many people write reviews as if you do not need to set proper lighting.

• The NX1 is amazingly capable in many, many ways that other cameras just are not. As a gimbal operator, my personal favorite is the autofocus which is best described as "it just freaking works. all the time." It's downright uncanny, but I almost NEVER see it hunt. Once it finds focus, (which it does very quickly especially with face tracking), it keeps focus, even when pushing in and out from the subject, spinning around it, above it, below it, or any other movement imaginable. I shoot all day long on my Ronin and never touch or even think about focus.

And should my arms get truly tired, or the gimbal run out of juice, the 16-50's OIS stabilization is very capable in its own right. You can do a lot with literally just the camera and this lens. Not many cameras can really say that.

The 4K is gorgeous, the 1080p is flawless, the slow-mo is inspiring. The colors are pleasing and the overall image rendering is very useable. The file sizes are obscenely small for their quality (I usually get a long day of shooting onto a 64GB card with room to spare, even in 4K.)

There are two things the NX1 is not:

It is not a raw cinema style camera.

And it is not a lowlight monster like some of the recent (Sony I'm looking at you) other mirror less options out there. That being said, it looks identical at ISO 800 as it does at ISO 100. I'm rarely scared to use the auto-ISO in relevant situations.