Personal View site logo
GH4 Firmware 2.3, V-log for $99, Epic Panasonic marketing fail
  • 1451 Replies sorted by
  • @Tjabo

Depending on your preferred workflows, PrPro has several ways of incorporating LUT's ... in the Effects panel tab in the lower left quadrant, in the search type in lut and see what pops up ... also, in 2015, the new color workspace ... there's an "Input LUT" on the basic tab that is there to "place" non-Rec709 footage into the Rec709 space that Lumetri panel is built around.

I'd suggest first putting a Fast or Three-Way effect on a clip, THEN going to the Basic & loading the LUT you want, THEN going back to the color control effect you'd chosen to tweak the image there for WB/exposure/contrast (think L/G/G or O/G/G if you understand colorist lingo) and then go back into the Lumetri panel for doing your colorist work.

Neil

• @balazer, I'm a Premiere Pro user, so what would be the preferred method to utilize your LUTs? Guessing I'll have to delve into DaVinci Resolve?

• I had to look REALLY hard to see any banding on YouTube. I think this is pretty good stuff! I totally get the dreary, overcast day shooting as I live in Mid-Michigan where we almost never see the sun. Lol

It's hard to capitalize on wider dynamic range when there just isn't much range to capture. Haha...

• @Vesku I think it is more to do with the youtube compression and the compressed file I uploaded to it. The file uploaded was compressed at 40mb/s in compressor and it still came in at 1gb. My local 100mb/s copy came in at 2.5gb and looks great played through my WD TV hub. That is not to say that banding does not still exist in the orginal, I just think it is more obvious after two rounds of compression...

• @lmackreath