Personal View site logo
GF2 Patch wont exceed 1.1
  • Hi a newbie here trying to apply the PTool patch to my GF2. Followed all instructions and things go fine until I get to the 'Body version up' screen on my camera. Despite changing the new patched .bin filename to GF2__V12.bin and putting it in the SD root directory Version>>>1.1 is the only option showing. After selecting 'Yes' the menu obviously says 'Version up ongoing' but I am left with the standard 1.1 firmware.

I have formatted the SD before and afterwards and have tried every option I can think of (downloaded new PTools, used a variety of different digits V20 etc) and no closer after several nights of trying to figure this out

Im using an 16 gb Sandisk SDHC class 10 card

I have searched high and low for anyone with a similar GF2 issue in these forums to no avail. Apologies in advance if I have posted this in the wrong place. But any help or direction would be much appreciated!

• 7 Replies sorted by
  • Thanks for your quick reply, I shall read carefully through the FAQs, sorry what does 234234 mean?

• @Rails I use a GH2 so this may be wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that your camera will still display the same firmware number even after you apply the hack/patch/setting. I believe one way to check is to use streamparser (it's a program that analyzes footage you shoot. Its available in the faqs area of this website). Once you apply the hack/patch/setting, shoot some footage, 30 seconds will do. Then use streamparser to analyze it. For me, I use a GH2 so I know the regular firmware creates files that are about 24 Mbps for Video bitrate. When I've properly applied a hack setting, the footage is much higher at ~120Mbps...so I know the hack/patch/setting has been installed.