Personal View site logo
Sony A7s, FHD camera, with 12Mp sensor, big DR
  • 1100 Replies sorted by
  • @nosignal

The best source of info about future Sony cameras is: http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/

They are pretty accurate. In answer to your question, there have been no rumors of an update to the A7s. That doesn't mean there isn't one coming, but probably not in the immediate future. The next round of Sony cameras is reported to contain high megapixel sensors.

• @Athiril interesting! I have no knowledge in this field, I admit, but it would possible at this point to force the dual recording of sony a7s to get 10bit in 24p?

• @ AlbertZ: A7S is not delivering 10 bit.

• @nomad the point was @Athiril 's note in the previous page, in particular:

"If you're that desperate for it, if you're shooting in 1080p, if you take 50p or 60p, and blend 2 frames together for an output of 25p or 30p within a 16-bit space you should get more than 10-bits. Same if you downsize 4K to 1080p in a 16-bit space. (You can work in a 16-bit space in AE iirc)." I was curious if it possibel to extend this trick through dual recording which is available in A7s...I am not expert though ;)

• Given that the A7s was only released 8 months ago, is still selling like hotcakes, and has no viable competition in its space, it seems unlikely that Sony would be inclined to release an update in the near future.

• i am trying to record a7s Hdmi output in blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle 2 (latest firmware).

​But when i choose movie mode and 1080 25p output , cant record anything (video led on BM hyper deck is off).

When i choose 1080i output in camera, then i can record from A7s.

i noticed when i connect my A7s in my samsung led tv , that when i choose 1080p output , tv shows that it accepts 1080 50p !

​Thats the reason why BM can't see the video from HDMI when o choose 1080p.... but why is this ?

​Why A7s can't output 1080 25p ?