Personal View site logo
Pros/Cons of Sony PXW-X70 vs Sony PMW-EX1R? (or Sony NEX-EA50 or Sony FS100?)
  • I'm a DSLR/MILC guy, thus asking this for a friend as I'm far from an expert on camcorders, but what would be the pro/cons list of a Sony PXW-X70 vs a Sony PMW-EX1R?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1072752-REG/sony_pxw_x70_professional_xdcam_compact.html http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/758895-REG/Sony_PMW_EX1R_2_PMW_EX1R_XDCAM_EX_Full.html

To also throw in a third one for comparison with these two, the Sony NEX-EA50 or even the Sony FS100 as a fourth consideration to be included (if only either one had built in ND filters, then I reckon this would be the strongest choice here perhaps?) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1076767-REG/sony_nex_ea50m_nxcam_camcorder.html http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/761580-REG/Sony_NEX_FS100UK_NEX_FS100U_Super_35mm_Sensor.html (included the links so it is easy and handy for people to also see the specs at a glance)

• 27 Replies sorted by
  • Well, you can add Sony CX900, as it is same basic hardware as X70.

Or even Sony AX100. Both also have build in NDs. But no XLRs or very high bitrate modes.

• Yeah for sure, I know about those, and if it was up to me I'd go with the cheaper Sony HDR-CX900 or Sony FDR-AX100. Actually, I wouldn't get any and just instead get the Sony A7000 when that comes out! But I've got a DSLR/MILC bias, while she has a twenty year video veteran with an ENG background.

So I don't think she'd settle for anything without XLR. (personally I reckon the Sony A7s with the Sony XLR-K2M could be a good combo, but I still doubt she'll like the DSLR/MILC form factor)