Personal View site logo
Shortfilm preparation - legal question regarding film score
  • Hi I'm currently working on my next short and have some legal/copyright question. As usual, we plan on recording most of the film score ourselves but this time, there will be a scene where I need a TV comedy as background sound (no picture). How is it with rights. Plan would be to simply record 2-3 min of a real TV comedy. Can I use this without paying specific rights, no matter what I record? (widely known or unknown TV comedy).

Help appreciated and sorry if this has already been answered here, haven't had the time to browse.

Cheers Chris

• 19 Replies sorted by
  • Anybody? If seen tons of footage with some TV broadcast sound in the background (audio only). How do you guys handle copyrights.

Sorry again for this mabye banal question. I'm pretty new in this field ;)

• I think more people will check after Thanksgiving and weekend :-) Bump the topic on monday, ok?

• @vitaliy_kiselev Thanks for reminding, completely forgotten. Will check back on Monday :)

• Other forums suggest you just create something that sounds like comedy rather than risk using a real show. I'm not an expert though but if I had to use comedy in the background that's what I'd do, to avoid problems down the line. PS it's only thanksgiving in the US so I'm surprised you haven't had more replies

• You have to make a list of all the applicable rights, then check them off one by one, including the software. Since the soundtrack is integral to the work, stripping out the soundtrack would not necessarily give you the rights to show it without the soundtrack; that is, you would still need to get all the rights, plus derivatives.

The fact that you might think, rightly or wrongly, that you have the rights is ultimately irrelevant. So if you use something that is "royalty free" or "public domain", you still need to get your ducks in a row.