Personal View site logo
GH4 4K Panasonic video camera, User reviews and opinions
  • 1273 Replies sorted by
  • @FilmingArt, you seen this comparison?

It looks like the low light comparison is not that drastic.
    Also, I think the difference between the GH3 and GH4 is more than minor - focus peaking, better EVF and LCD, and obviously 4K. Having owned both the GH2 and GH3, I'd pick the GH4 every time.

• @tinyrobot

I would rate the GH4 maybe 1/2 stop better in lowlight than GH3, so maybe 1 stop better than GH2. The main advantage being a little more room in the shadows and more in the highlights, but 100% Honesty I would not rate it as a serious leap forward, more like a half step.

I've been using GH cameras and owning since the GH1, so I have a lot of experience with them.

GH4 main advantage is 4k being able to capture good detail in wide shots, but GH2 Hack + GH3 were always pretty good at this anyways. Heck Hacked GH2 is better detail than 5D Markiii, but the main advantage of 5D is low light high iso camera + obviously FF.

GH4 also has much much better autofocus speed when taking pictures, so that may be an advantage if you need it.

Really thinking about it I would much prefer a low light / high iso camera than 4k. A good 1080p camera with low light is imo something Panasonic should have focused much more. I truly think Sony A7s (even though cost more) might be the camera that is really going to make sense for a lot of people.

I need to run some more tests, but 1st impressions are not really a big difference of Hacked GH2/GH3

• @hammyuk Where are you getting yours from? Ive spoke to WEX & CVP and they have told me its now the 12th and this is only for the preordered units. So it starts....

• @hammyuk The best software is the one you now how to operate. I personally use Premiere CC and is does the job very well.