Personal View site logo
External Storage
  • I'm new to this digital universe of HD and my beautiful little GH2 has forced me to shoot and shoot until I've sucked up my 1T hard drive and so, obviously, at the risk of getting sucked into the infernal vortex of some kind of Stonebat Syndrome I'm in the needy mode of buying gear. I.E.- I need an external drive to safely store and quickly provide me with said footage to edit on my Imac. So I'm looking for advice on which company and model to buy. Thanks guys.
  • 16 Replies sorted by
  • I have a Lacie quadra 500GB external harddrive sitting on top of my MacPro and its doing quite well. Be sure to get fast connections - mine has not only USB 2.0 and Firewire400, but also Firewire800 and eSATA (I'm using it with FW800). Its not that expensive and as far as I know you can even open the housing and change the harddisc.
  • i have 2 of this and several harddisks

http://www.pccomponentes.com/sharkoon_sata_quickport_duo_usb3_0_v2.html

they have usb3 so not very fast for editing but i only use them for storage.
  • @davhar

Search gear category for my solutions.
    I use USB 3.0 dock and also Acer server with 4 bays for 2Tb drives.
  • @davhar your iMac could have two internal 2TB drives. Internal bus speed is the fastest.
  • @ stonebat

Really? It's last years model 27" core duo. I'll check on that. Is that the "supported hardware raid device" that info tells me my system doesn't have? I'll phone the shop tomorrow. Obviously internal would be faster than going thru firewire…and if it can be put in then it can be pulled out if my little miss imac has a bad period or whatever and wants to cut me off.