Personal View site logo
Driftwood ClusterX series 2:│moon│ЅріzZ│nebula│drewnet│Slipstream │Redshift
  • 1053 Replies sorted by
  • Moon Trial 5 is 1 GOP and DrewNet Trial 6 is 12/15 GOP. Whats the difference?

• i am a layman, but 1GOP should be all intra frames(one frame=one image), and 12/15GOP PAL/NTSC has two intra frames per second, i guess, so 1GOP shuld result in better/precise manipulation when editing video

• @rorykane that setup of lenses did you use?

• @T1000 @dado023 Assuming that there is a limited bitrate available for lossy compression (which is what we're dealing with here) 1GOP settings will render detail more consistently from frame to frame while higher GOP settings allow for higher detail in situations where there isn't as much change in the frame from frame to frame.

However, in the case of ambiguous detail (like ISO or shadow noise) 1GOP settings will consistently render the subtle differences from frame to frame while higher GOP settings may sometimes update the noise/shadow less frequently.

I tend to favor 1GOP settings because I like the consistency between when I am shooting stationary shots and high motion shots. However, 1GOP settings are often a bit more difficult to get to span. Higher GOP settings are often easier to span and can offer greater detail in in low-motion (or no motion) scenes, with the possible exception of the noise rendering, etc.

Hope that helps.

• regarding colors and editing, if i upconvert mts to 10bit 444, will that give me more maneuvering with gradation?

• @thepalalias @dado023 Thanks for the info, I learn something new everyday! These hacks got me excited about film making again! I don't have to spend 3-5K anymore!

@dado023 As far as grading I came across this video by Shian Storm in another forum. Check it out:

Password is: 5DtoRGB

I'm sticking to what his tests show. He also has a website called Color Ghear: www.colorghear.com