Personal View site logo
Diagonal rain appears using GH2 + Premiere Pro CS6 without a hack
  • Hi,

I've been trying to work out why exporting some noisy low light footage in premiere pro CS6 is giving me 'diagonal rain' problems that aren't present in the original m2ts files from my GH2.

Reading two similar topics (below) the problem seems to be related to GOP length, which hack is being used, and the decoding abilities of certain players. But I shot this footage with the original firmware so this can't apply? Possibly it is a CS6 specific issue?

http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/5120/please-help-problem-with-my-gh2-footage/p1 http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/3804/strange-pulsing-diagonal-pattern-in-gh2-hack-footage/p1

It's not footage I can take again so any advice on how to export this without the noise would be amazing... I'm a beginner but not posted it there as the problem seems to be a complicated one.

I just uploaded the start of my edit to youtube for an example of the problem. Some of my footage was 24p and some was 50 fps 720p but the problem persists in all the export formats I've tried;

• 115 Replies sorted by
  • Transcode with 5DtoRGB before rendering your edit (replacing footage) or before importing to edit.

No more rain.

• @BurnetRhoades that's great, thanks! The clip I want sequences from is 9 minutes long, any cutting tools you recommend so I just transcode the portion I'm interested in?

• I'd just transcode the whole thing and then free up the space once you're done. The tool I always use for that sort of thing doesn't read MTS directly (QTPro Player) or does with an addon so bad I finally got rid of it so that I wouldn't actually make the mistake of ever playing MTS with the QT Player again.

5DtoRGB is currently the only tool I trust to not muck up camera-raw MTS files. Sorry.

• No worries man, just glad there is an easy solution! Cheers again