Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
I am a beginner, suggest me camera
  • I am new to filmmaking. Can any one recommend me a good camera for video shooting to start with? I was planning to get a gx1 initially

• 19 Replies sorted by
  • GH2 for now, and perhaps a GH3 next year

• GX1 is nearly the cost of a GH2.. get the GH2 .. $785 with a kit lens.

• I don't get how people blindly recommend cameras…

@hanzgn What do you even wanna do? Scenic film? Documentary? Wedding?

• @pechente i want to make videos on cycling trips

• @hanzgn Do you want to shoot while you are still biking or do you mean that you want to stop places while you are out biking and take videos?

If you are talking about the former, then helmet cams like the GoPro, Contour, and Drift series make a certain amount of sense. They are more targeted to that application. I looked at many comparison several months ago (earlier in the year) and at that point the Drift options seemed to have a big edge in resolution (and I seem to remember a bit of an edge in rolling shutter). That may have changed in the last couple months.

If you mean stopping to take videos, then the questions start with:

• What size camera do you want?
    • What do you want to do with the videos (e.g. post on web, make into DVDs, make into Blu-Rays) and who is your audience?
    • Are you going to be shooting mostly handheld or with a mount, rig or tripod?