Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
m4/3 to Nikon G adapter with built in ND's
  • I've been waiting for such a solution to become available since I first started using m4/3 camera's. I'm done waiting for someone else to do it. I used to be a welder and machinist before I took a career change and went to film school. I still have a lot of friends in the industry that could either let me use there machining equipment or might be willing to help me depending on interest.

Before I go down this road, I'd like to ask you all for some help and input.

1. How much would you be willing to spend? This will determine if there is a market and if it's feasible.
    2. Should I go for a slide in and out type filter system (cheaper, and can be available quicker), or a filter wheel type of system (more expensive, and will take longer to become available)?

If there seems to be a lot of interest, I might try to start a Kickstarter campaign.

• 8 Replies sorted by
  • Nice solution! I don't own any G lenses exactly because the solution with misplaced iris in adapter was terrible. I am not sure how much would I pay for it, the price range in standard Nikon F to MFT adapters is huge, from 20-200$, and that does not always reflect the quality..

• Optical element at the back of the lens will change focus distance, so that would need to be accounted for either adjusting the lens focus ring or the adapter length.

• @inqb8tr

Nikon G adapters don't have a built in iris. They actually have a mechanical ring that adjust the lenses own iris. Nikon G lenses are not like Canon EF lenses. The Canon's need electronics for the lenses iris to work, Nikon G lenses don't.

• @aki_hartikainen