Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
RJ Follow Focus, looks very good
  • 187 Replies sorted by
  • Forgive me, I'm new at follow focus stuff. What do we mean by "amount of play in gear box" and how does it affect focusing in real world?
    Does it mean if I rack focus from Point A to Point B, the gear will not stop exactly on Point B, instead it will shift a few millimeters in distance?
  • Just bought the ROD Rig from JinFinance, suit me fine.
  • Here is first video review of this follow focus

Very positive :-)
  • Sellers hiked price to $156-163 in perfect sync. Motherfuckers.
    Use our AliExpress link to get old price.
  • Also suggest to look at this FF (also Chinese) :

Cost is higher, of course. But lower than TrusMT.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Professional-DSLR-follow-focus-7D-5D-GH1-D90-60D-/260794511525?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cb89070a5

• deleted
  • >The rubber(???) lens gear ok, but it won't work on 20.7 pancake as it bumps into GH1's handgrip

With reversed gear also?
    Can you show how it bumps?

>360 degree lens gear would work... but I don't feel like buying it.

IndieSystem 360 degree gear do not work, it is just too large.
    Almost all other gears also won't work as handgrip is too close.
  • The revered gear works fine. The FF gear can handle the pancake. It's the lens gear with the screw lock that bumps into the hand grip. It's just a tad bit too tall.

This isn't a showstopper for me as I'm planning to trade 20.7 for PL 25.4. But those of u who wanna use the pancake... find another lens gear.
  • >This isn't a showstopper for me as I'm planning to trade 20.7 for PL 25.4. But those of u who wanna use the pancake... find another lens gear.

Such gear will be very hard to find. It must be small and be 360 degrees.