Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
"Cheap" Leica R lenses
  • Here is a Leica Lens post, first of all I am no expert here just had to do my research when I joined the Leica rout.
    I'll make this mainly about Leica R lenses that are discontinued because Leica doesn't make Reflex cameras any more. One good thing about this lenses is their focal flange distance of 47 mm, therefore it can be adapted to Nikon, pentax, canon, or any other mount. So if lenses are the real investment because they last longer than cameras then it makes some sense to buy lenses that can fit any camera system. (Maybe Nikon makes a dslr that shoots raw). This is no 30 euro lens thread but if you know what and where to look then you could find a lot of sub 200 euro lenses.
    What I find good about this lenses: excellent color reproduction long focus barrel rotation and they practically don't breath when focusing.

So lets start with the Leica nomenclature for f stops
    (There are plenty more but this are the most common)
    f/stop Name
    f/0.95, f/1 and f/1.2 NOCTILUX
    f/1.4 SUMMILUX
    f/2 SUMMICRON
    f/2.5 SUMMARIT
    f/2.8 ELMARIT
    f/3.5, f/3.8 and f/4 ELMAR, SUPER-ELMAR

So when you see a Leica lens you must see the name and the serial number.
    Serial numbers are very important because they tell you the production year and the model of the lens.

This French site tells you in which year a lens was made
    http://summilux.net/numeros/

Then here you can see which model the lens is
    http://www.overgaard.dk/leica_lens_compendium.html
    (scroll down to: “R-lenses for R3, R4, R6, R6.2, R7, R8, R9”)

Here you can see which lenses work with canon 5D without hitting the mirror
    http://www.pebbleplace.com/Personal/Leica_db.html