Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Help needed for Galapagos Adventure/documentary
  • Not even sure I'm in the right catagory but I'm going to Ecuador in November with my 70 year old mom (she's still tough). We're visiting the Amazonas rainforest for a week then spending a week visiting the Galapagos.

We're both very interested in nature and wildlife, so both places will be great for that.

I would like to make some sort of documentary out of the trip, that's a little more then just an animated postcard. I have little experience in this as I have mainly done extreme stuff like skydiving, skiing and kitesurfing.

I'm bringing my GH2 with 14-140, 14f2.5, 25f1.4 and 45f1.8, a small portable light, a Røde Video mic pro and a tripod with a video head. I'm planning on using the Moon T8 or Spizz T7 and currently not really sure, whether to shoot in 30 or 24 fps or if I should use 30 played at 24 to slow things down a little for nature shots.

I also bring my GoPro 3+ black with various mounts.

I am reasonably capable in editing and colorcorrection, so what I'm looking for is help/advice/tricks on storytelling and getting the shots I need for that.

I know this is a very wide and open question but I see so much talent on this site, so I was hoping on some shared knowledge.

Thanks in advance :-)

• 11 Replies sorted by