Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
How might I go about getting this look in Resolve or and FCPX
  • I'm wanting to get a similar look for a quirky documentary look i'm working on. I've got half way by just playing around with Film Convert but I cant get the distinctive color separation for this look between the yellow and other colors, ie it just all looks yellow.

Any practical Da Vinci Resolve advice (im a severe beginner) on how I can get this look or if I could in just my NLE?

• 6 Replies sorted by
  • Not familiar with fcp or da Vinci, but the principle remains the same - you want cc software that will allow you to grade shadows, mid- tones and highlights separately. Thus, you would be able to tint highlights only a yellow tone, without affecting the mids and shadows.

Hth

• With all due respect I think there is more to it than that. There are shots where the reds are vivid and pushed at the same time the sky's blue is pushed. I'm thinking I need a LUT or some more sopfisticated grading that isolate certain colors. How? I'm clueless..

• Of course there's more to it than that. Why don't you start playing around with the software and seeing what you come up with? Read the manual for starters. Or try google - I did a google search on increasing blue sky saturation in resolve and got several answers to your question - including a page in the manual that deals with that exact question. And btw, a Lut isn't a set of grading tools, it's merely a set of colour corrections that returns your raw footage from log colour space to looking 'normal'.

• @gregjoyce