Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Mobile gadgets and real problems
  • If you are wondering how much faster is my CPU-bound function in native code instead of Nitro JS, the answer is about 5x faster. This result is roughly consistent with the Benchmarks Game's results with x86/GCC/V8.

But a factor of 5 is okay on x86, because x86 is ten times faster than ARM just to start with.  You have a lot of headroom. The solution is obviously just to make ARM 10x faster, so it is competitive with x86, and then we can get desktop JS performance without doing any work!

Whether or not this works out kind of hinges on your faith in Moore's Law in the face of trying to power a chip on a 3-ounce battery.  I am not a hardware engineer, but I once worked for a major semiconductor company, and the people there tell me that these days performance is mostly a function of your process.   The iPhone 5's impressive performance is due in no small part to a process shrink from 45nm to 32nm; a reduction of about a third.  But to do it again, Apple would have to shrink to a 22nm process.