Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Upsampling/Upconverting beneficial before editing footage?
  • Would love to hear opinions on whether there is any significant benefit of upconverting/upsampling footage before editing and color grading. I'm relatively new to editing, so all opinions and knowledge is much appreciated. I'm wondering if GH2 1080P footage would benefit from upconverting it to 4k before editing...i.e. would it hold up better in grading and could it be pushed further before the image starts breaking down? Also wondering if it's possible(as talked about in Windmotion thread) and advisable to upsample GH2 1080P footage to 4:4:4 before editing...i.e. does this too help with better results in grading?

I edit in Adobe CS6 with access to all programs (Creative Cloud) such as Premiere Pro, After Effects, Speedgrade, etc.

• 13 Replies sorted by
  • I'd say not for editing. Especially not 4K. There's no good reason, that I can think of, to make the footage bigger and fatter before you whittle it down. Pro cinema editors were delivering final cut EDLs after seeing the whole movie for six months or more at like 320 lines with the original Avid systems. Starting out with 1080/720 footage, like we have now, is like working with release print quality from the early days of digital non-linear. What's important in editorial is realtime.

All the extra detail doesn't really aid in the critical judgement calls of editing. That comes later. Notes about takes or sections that would be NG and not to be used for the edit should come from the logging and/or dailies/rushes or equivalent review of the footage prior to sitting down to really edit.