Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Fun things to do late at night - making music with the Kinect
  • I'm no MIDI expert, but I had to try this. It uses the Kinect to send data to a program that recognises different bits of your body, then turns that in to MIDI data which can activate sounds.

This is just a basic go - but you can get it to recognise each hand independently, and in the x, y, and z (distance) axis. Here I'm triggering chords in two instruments (I click around them to demonstrate) then stand back and control volume with the height of my hands and which chords are triggered by the side-to-side movement of each. A lot of fun! Maybe I can get it to control faders so I can exercise while mixing down?

EDIT: Looking at this morning, I think I've invented Mime!!

• 6 Replies sorted by
  • Hi @matt_gh2, thanks! I could see it might have its uses controlling various midi-driven interfaces, for example lighting or motorised devices. The positions are totally repeatable, so it's pretty precision stuff. I'm less sure about its use in music, because if you really need to play something, you'd just play it rather than waving your hands around.

I hope people here might think of interesting uses for this. Http://www.kinectar.org has links to all the software required if anyone wants a go

• I think it is much more suitable

• Minority Report vs Leap Motion :)

• Hey both, that's fun. I'd seen the Leap Motion thing a while ago and forgotten about it. Looks like it might actually be possible to buy one day soon - I was interested in the Kinect mainly because some people have one (like me) and also because it's interesting to see what you can get out of a device that's normally used for something else.