Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Patched firmware not displaying new filename after install
  • Hello,

I'm new to this. I just picked up my new GH2 and after first updating the Panasonic GH2 firmware from V1.0 to V1.1 and doing some testing I then attempted to install the Sanity 5 firmware patch. I followed the PTools instructions. I downloaded Ptools and the GH2__v11.bin from Panasonic and opened the bin file in Ptools. Then I applied the Sanity 5 patch and saved the patched firmware as "GH2__v12.bin". After installing it on my GH2 I checked the firmware version and it still shows it to be Version 1.1 not Version 1.2.

How can I determine if I have actually patched the firmware? I would assume it hasn't worked because I don't see any change in the firmware version and can't tell from the menu settings if anything else is different.

I seem to be missing something here.

Thanks pundit.

• 5 Replies sorted by
  • @pundit I am new to it, too, but my understanding is that your patch is working. Because the patch is based on the original firmware released by Panasonic your camera will only show the version number of the current original firmware. Check your recording times, you should be able to fit less footage per card (depending on the actual patch it will change more or less dramatically), this is one way of telling if the patch is working. Of course image quality, too.