Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Newbie Hacker: GH2... Need to know more about the whole tweaking/hacking thing
  • I am a videographer that bought one of the first USA shipping GH2's. I am using it for corporate video work. Very little stills if any (kids birthday and stuff... otherwise, all video work).

My business partner uses a Canon 5D mk II, and I told him the pany was suppose to shoot as good as the MK II.

So I am researching how to improve the GH2 video, and downloaded the Panasonic GH2 Guide for Filmakers by OSGFilms. So far it has helped a lot to understand the GH2 for video. I have downloaded, and I think I successfully installed the GH2__V10 hack he links to. I re-named the file I uploaded to the GH2: GH2__V11, but the version in the system on the camera still shows Version 1. Not sure that matters, as it showed the system updating after I inserted the card as instructed.

In the book he refers to several hacks, and I am curious as to how this all works. Can you apply more than one hack at a time?

Is there a listing here of other hacks and the functionality of each as it adds to the GH2?

Finally, is there a newbie guide that discusses hacking the camera and could help a newbie like me (at this kinda thing) understand what is happening with all of the tech stuff? Maybe a thread that takes you step by step through what hacking is actually doing to the camera (I know it is basically a revised operating system of sorts allowing the hardware to do more , etc,,, ) But it appears most of the folks here already understands the basics, and I am trying to get a handle on the whole thing with no local folks I know to find out more :o)

Mark

• 6 Replies sorted by