Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Best system for hard CPU renderers

Note that cost of system sometime sis for used CPUs, especially old Xeons.

For video you must not look at this so direct, as GPU play very significant role, as well as parallelization.

Adobe products are especially known for very bad usage of both, especially bad are high core count CPUs. It becoming better, but very slow.

sa8759.jpg
    800 x 352 - 57K
  • 5 Replies sorted by
  • I've been using Edius for the last ten years and it's probably the only NLE which uses ONLY cpu. On Edius there's a huge performance difference between i9700 and i9900 cpu. In my system, GPU is used only for third party plugin.

• @LongJohnSilver

What version do you use?

I think latest versions use GPU.

At least for encoding it uses QuickSync and such for long.

• I'm using Edius 8 Workgroup. It' sonly CPU based. From what I read on GV forum its' the same for Edius 9. Timeline is heavily CPU dependent. Of course if you apply some GPU based effects on timeline things changes. yes, it uses QS (despite of various bugs) for rendering so a 9900K makes a huge difference.

• @LongJohnSilver

For now FCP X is only one NLE written with understanding of proper GPU/decoder usage and designed with NVMe SSDs in mind. But it needs much more attention from Apple.

Resolve also has lot of modern parts, but overall it is monster consisting of 80% of very old code made for 1-2 core CPUs and by people long time missing.

Adobe Premiere is similar to Resolve, but with significant issues in management and extremely expensive developers (one Adobe developer cost around 3x of average BM one).

Edius now focused only on broadcast and big guys, small people are mostly abandoned.