Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
14-140mm vs 14-50mm
  • Hey people.. Just ready to get the Gh2, really amazing camera from what i have seen ... Just wanted to know if you guys believe the 14-140 is worth the buy especially for video use, i've heard its quite slow indoors.. or should i get something like the panaleica 14-50. It has AF and OIS. Is OIS a must for video recording, especially if you have some moving around?

Thx alot! :)

• 14 Replies sorted by
  • Well, first of all I must say that I'm only a student and not pro. I prefere a good lens without zoom, you get sharper images and they are much faster. I dont like digital color grain ( though the gh2 performs very well) and i do everything to avoid it. Indoors with a 3.5 -5.6 just isn't a good idea. Also when you decide to use zoomlenses for video you basically say that you want to zoom in or out, however with cheap lenses like the 14-140 you loose light when zooming in since the aperture isn't constant. Olympus makes a good zuiko lens with a constant f2 aperture (2000 $). So my advise would be, if u focus on shooting vids is this: buy the gh2 with the cheapo lens kit 14-48, just so you have a lightweight lens you can carry around everywhere for taking picture or just when going somewhere without a full bag. And with the money you'd spend on that 14-140 you buy a good single mm lens. I bought the 25mm leica summilux by panasonic, its 1.4 and produces very nice images. i took this one instead of the voightlander 0.95 because its automatic. If you want you can buy a cheap adapter and buy canon fd lenses , they cost around 50 $ a piece.

sorry for all the typo's i'm kinda sleepy =) hope i helped a bit