Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV Telegram channel! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Degradation: Wi-Fi will be reduced to single number now
  • To help users identify devices that provide the latest Wi-Fi experience, Wi-Fi Alliance has introduced simplified generational names that may appear in device names and product descriptions. Wi-Fi devices supporting the latest generation of connectivity are based on the 802.11ax standard and are known as Wi-Fi 6 devices.

    All "convoluted" codenames are being changed. Instead of the current Wi-Fi being called 802.11ac, it’ll be called Wi-Fi 5. :

    • Wi-Fi 1: 802.11b (1999)
    • Wi-Fi 2: 802.11a (1999)
    • Wi-Fi 3: 802.11g (2003)
    • Wi-Fi 4: 802.11n (2009)
    • Wi-Fi 5: 802.11ac (2014)


    380 x 192 - 13K
  • 3 Replies sorted by
  • Got to dumb it down for the consumer!

  • Makes sense though.